Theme: work

Spotted this beauty today. Had to grab a photo, so we “borrowed” someone’s driveway, and I got a few photos before anyone spotted me (yes, they were home). Anyhow this is the US Coast Guard Cutter Fir, based in Astoria, Oregon. Her nickname is “The Bar Tender”, and her motto is: No Bar Too Tough, Too Rough, Too Far. If interested, you can read more about her here. USCGC Fir is down in Yaquina Bay doing some work with NOAA on buoy’s.

Four shots: I like the first because of the wake. I like the second because I got a slightly better placement.

8 comments on “Theme: work

  1. danudin says:

    I love the second image too, not only for the HDR effect but primarily for the juxtapositioning of the ships Davit and the smaller derrick on the dock.

  2. John & Lois says:

    Love seeing the difference Topaz makes to the images.
    Fabulous scene.

  3. Bobbie says:

    My favorite is the last one. To me, the muted colors tone down distracting foreground and background elements.

  4. hmca14 says:

    I don’t use my Topaz that often but I love seeing the difference t made in your images. I agree with Bobbie about the last shot…and that’s a filter I don’t think I’ve ever tried!

  5. Steve says:

    For me the last ones’ processing just seems to work with the subject matter

  6. lynn says:

    I really like seeing the before and after photos and I love the second shot for its oomph

  7. PC PHOTO says:

    Like ‘em all but spicify is my fav!

Leave a Reply

