Inspired

Yesterday I visited Mike’s blog, and found the link to his tutorials, and he got my creative juices flowing. (Thanks, Mike!) Now, I’m nowhere near his calibre, but that doesn’t mean I can’t learn and have fun; so I took the photo I had taken of the hail and ice (from inside the car because it was too slippery and dangerous for me to get out) and I came up with 2 presentations. One uses Mike’s explanation on recessed borders.

The other was simply playing in Topaz Adjust. Just interesting and fun stuff.

Having enjoyed snow and ice yesterday, today it warmed up and the rain arrived and now the wind is starting … and the weather service has just issued a hurricane force wind warning for us. This is the 2nd time in the history of the NWS that they have issued a warning like this for us. The 1st time was in 2007 and we were without power for 3 days. Not something we are looking forward to repeating. So … if I don’t show up anywhere for a bit, you’ll know why.

14 comments on “Inspired

  1. Bobbie says:

    I like the greyness of the top image. It just feels slushy. I can see stomping through it in my Bean boots. I do hope you won’t lose power. we were out for a whole week after a freak nor’easter in late October. It’s fun and romantic for the frost day or so…then it gets old.

  2. danudin says:

    Watch Mike’s Tuts, He is so good at what he does that you can get addicted to it! LOL

  3. Tammy says:

    My feet are shivering just looking at these! I love your presentations too!

    Don’t blow away…we’d miss you! :)

  4. regularman says:

    Hang on to something Kim!

  5. mikec366 says:

    Well done with the boarders. I’d have probably gone for a dark grey for the top one rather that the red. But that’s just me. Well done.
    M.

  6. Steve says:

    Great commentary explaining the choice for the theme…nice images…I’m with Mike on the top border colour

  7. John & Lois says:

    Nice use of theme . . . Mike is an inspiration . . . love his tutorials. Hope the wind doesn’t get as bad as they predict.

  8. Iris (Rose) says:

    I like the impression of slushy snow, wheel tracks and boots … brrrr

  9. hmca14 says:

    Gray border on gray textured image works well…..interesting patterns in the slush!

  10. Cathy says:

    Love the one with the pots and footprints, great processing. The other one is really good too, and I agree with the others that the new border looks better (as you posted in the following post).

  11. Ellen says:

    Coming from the future I like the border color in gray too, I think in general it works to sample a dominant color form the shot to use as a border.
    Mike (not Matt) is indeed inspiring.

  12. PC PHOTO says:

    Glad you took to inspiration! I now see where Matt’s suggestion came from. You did a great job with topaz! Glad you shared the close focus of the tracks and then the bigger picture! Very creative.

  13. Mike says:

    Nice use of my border tutorial….. I prefer darker colors when using this type border. That coupled with a darker drop shadow really makes the photo pop off the screen.
    Thanks for the mention!

Leave a Reply

